IFRS 17

IFRS 17 reporting: Disclosures and KPIs

How life, health and property and casualty insurers report under IFRS 17, and how they use the numbers to steer the business.

Overview

Summary

This page explains the major IFRS 17 disclosures for life and health (L&H) and property and casualty (P&C) insurance. It covers what each disclosure shows, what IFRS 17 requires and how insurers present it. The examples come from the published reports of large insurers: Zurich, Swiss Re, Allianz and SCOR. The last part shows the KPIs that insurers use to steer the business.

An IFRS 17 report has four parts:

The measurement model determines which disclosures apply. The badges below each chapter title show the models it covers:

  • General measurement model (GMM): The default model for long-term contracts, such as term life, whole life and annuities. Reinsurers also use it for much of their P&C business. The CSM accrues interest at the rates locked in at the start and is released as the insurer provides cover. IFRS 17.32–52
  • Variable fee approach (VFA): For contracts with direct participation features, such as unit-linked and with-profits business. The insurer’s share of the returns on the underlying items adjusts the CSM instead of going straight to profit. IFRS 17.45 IFRS 17.B101–B118
  • Premium allocation approach (PAA): A simpler option, mainly for coverage of one year or less, such as most P&C business, group health and short-term protection. It spreads the premium over the cover period, has no CSM and needs fewer notes. IFRS 17.53–59

Disclosures

Balance sheet

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA

What it shows

The balance sheet lists the insurer’s assets and liabilities & equity at year end. IFRS 17 covers only the insurance and reinsurance contract line items. Investments and other financial assets fall under IFRS 9. This disclosure asks the insurer to show separate asset and liability totals for insurance contracts issued and reinsurance held. This shows readers how much the insurer owes its policyholders.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.78–79

  • Four separate totals: Issued assets, issued liabilities, reinsurance held assets and reinsurance held liabilities
  • The asset or liability position of each portfolio. Do not offset portfolios.
  • Assets for pre-recognition acquisition cash flows in the related portfolio

Line items on the balance sheet

Positive amount Negative amount

Each portfolio is an asset or a liability. The totals do not offset portfolios against each other.

Line itemAmountParagraph
Assets
Insurance contract assets+78(a)
Reinsurance contract assets+78(c)
Liabilities
Insurance contract liabilities−78(b)
Reinsurance contract liabilities−78(d)

How selected companies disclose it

  • All four show insurance and reinsurance contracts on separate lines, split into assets and liabilities. The labels and the position of the lines are different.
  • Swiss Re has material asset positions: USD 3,314 million of insurance contract assets and USD 7,128 million of reinsurance contract assets (p. 155)
  • Allianz adds a supplementary block below the balance sheet. It shows the Group CSM (€55,897 mn) and the risk adjustment (€6,816 mn) (p. 190).
  • SCOR measures its contracts on a cash basis, so its insurance lines include net payables and receivables. Note 14 reconciles them to the roll-forwards (p. 215).
  • Zurich shows liabilities for investment contracts on a separate line. It also shows two IFRS 17 reserves in equity (p. 277).

Consolidated balance sheet

USD millions20242025
Assets
Insurance contract assets768909
Reinsurance contract assets21'45023'893
All other assets335'787382'409
Total assets358'005407'211
Liabilities
Insurance contract liabilities230'479259'043
Reinsurance contract liabilities437433
Liabilities for investment contracts66'50779'485
All other liabilities33'64438'084
Total liabilities331'067377'045
Equity
Change in discount rate for (re)insurance contracts4'3724'618
Change in fair value of underlying items1'1582'750
All other equity21'40822'798
Total equity26'93830'166
Total liabilities and equity358'005407'211

Income statement

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA

What it shows

The income statement shows the insurer’s profit or loss for the year. IFRS 17 requires the profit from insurance cover (the insurance service result) to be provided separately from the investment result. This shows whether the insurer makes its money from insurance or from investing. Insurance revenue is the amount earned for cover provided in the year, not the premiums received (see Revenue analysis).

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.80–92

  • Insurance revenue and insurance service expenses, with the insurance service result as a subtotal
  • Reinsurance contracts held, separate from contracts issued
  • Insurance finance income or expenses (IFIE), separate from the service result
  • No investment components in revenue and expenses. No premium figures in the P&L.
  • An option to show part of IFIE in other comprehensive income IFRS 17.88(b)

Line items in the income statement

Line itemParagraph
Insurance revenue83
Insurance service expenses84
Net income or expenses from reinsurance contracts held82 86
Insurance service result80(a)
Investment returnIFRS 7 IFRS 9
Insurance finance income or expenses87 88
Reinsurance finance income or expenses82
Net financial result80(b) 110

How selected companies disclose it

  • All four show insurance finance income or expenses (IFIE) in the income statement. Zurich, Allianz and SCOR put it in the investment result. Swiss Re gives it a separate "Insurance finance result" block (p. 153).
  • Zurich, Allianz and SCOR show reinsurance held as one net line in the insurance service result. Swiss Re shows a subtotal before reinsurance and a separate reinsurance block.
  • All four use the OCI option, so part of IFIE goes to other comprehensive income
  • Zurich adds a "Fee result" block for its fee business (p. 273)

Consolidated income statement

USD millions20242025
Insurance revenue59'50762'945
Insurance service expense−50'456−52'382
Net expenses from reinsurance contracts held−3'031−3'296
Insurance service result6'0207'268
Net investment result on Group investments6'8147'552
Net investment result on unit-linked investments16'38414'795
Change in liabilities for investment contracts and other funds−8'112−5'918
Re-/insurance finance income/(expenses)−12'244−12'958
Net investment result2'8423'472
Fee result2'4362'543
Other result−2'832−3'242
Net income before income taxes8'46510'040
Income tax (expense)/benefit−2'261−2'840
Net income after taxes6'2047'201

Roll-forward of remaining coverage and incurred claims

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA

What it shows

The liability roll-forward explains how the insurer’s liabilities moved from the start to the end of the year. It splits them into the liability for remaining coverage (LRC), for cover still to be provided, and the liability for incurred claims (LIC), for claims that have already happened. Any expected losses on loss-making policies are shown separately as the loss component. This shows readers what drove the liabilities up or down and how the movements link to the income statement.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.98–100 IFRS 17.103 IFRS 17.105

  • Rows for insurance revenue, service expenses, investment components, IFIE and cash flows
  • Separate tables for contracts issued and reinsurance contracts held
  • Opening and closing amounts that match the balance sheet, with assets and liabilities shown separately
  • PAA: The incurred claims column is split into the estimates of future cash flows and the risk adjustment. IFRS 17.100(c)

Roll-forward by remaining coverage and incurred claims

Positive amount Negative amount
Line itemLoss componentLICTotalParagraph
Net opening balance++++100
Insurance revenue−−103(a)
Insurance service expenses++++
Investment components−+103(c)
Insurance service result−++−80(a)
Insurance finance income or expenses++++105(c)
Effect of movements in exchange rates++++105(d)
Cash flows+−+
Net closing balance++++100

How selected companies disclose it

  • Zurich gives one table for each measurement model: 7.2 PAA, 7.5 BBA and 7.7 VFA. Zurich calls the GMM the building block approach (BBA).
  • Swiss Re repeats the table for the Group and for each segment (Life & Health Reinsurance on pp. 199–200). It shows reinsurance held at Group level only.
  • Allianz and SCOR give one table for each segment: P&C and L&H. SCOR gives no Group total.
  • All four show the loss component as a column. None of them gives it a separate note.
  • Zurich's BBA table has an extra column for assets for insurance acquisition cash flows. SCOR splits revenue by transition approach in the table.

Insurance contracts issued, BBA

USD millionsLoss componentLICTotal
Net insurance contracts, as of January 1, 202519'5511'4975'368−76425'651
Insurance revenue−6'701———−6'701
Insurance service expenses727−784'89785'554
Total gross insurance service result−5'974−784'8978−1'146
Cash in/(out)flows in the period12'485—−10'308−2611'916
Total changes not related to provision of insurance services−2'9681435'2271462'547
Net insurance contracts, as of December 31, 202523'0941'5615'183−87028'968

Roll-forward of cash flows, risk adjustment and CSM

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA(not applicable)

What it shows

Under IFRS 17, an insurer’s insurance liabilities are made up of three building blocks: expected future cash flows, the risk adjustment for uncertainty, and the contractual service margin (CSM, the profit not yet earned). This disclosure asks the insurer to show how each block moved from the start to the end of the year. It groups the movements by whether they relate to future, current or past service, with separate lines for cash flows and interest accrued. This shows what drives the insurer’s profit over time and the quality of those earnings.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.101–102 IFRS 17.104–105

  • Columns for the present value of future cash flows, the risk adjustment and the CSM
  • Rows split into future service, current service and past service
  • Totals that agree with LRC and LIC roll-forward IFRS 17.102
  • PAA: Not required. Contracts under the PAA are left out of this table. IFRS 17.101

Roll-forward by measurement component

Positive amount Negative amount
Line itemPV cash flowsRisk adjustmentCSMTotalParagraph
Net opening balance++++101
Changes that relate to current service+−−+
Changes that relate to future service++++
Changes that relate to past service+++
Insurance service result+−−−80(a)
Insurance finance income or expenses++++
Cash flows++
Net closing balance++++101

Rate basis used in an illustrative annual roll-forward

MovementLine itemGMMVFA
OpeningOpening balanceFCF: current at start; CSM: locked-inCurrent at start
Current serviceCSM releaseLocked-in²Current at end²
Risk adjustment releaseCurrent at end³Current at end³
Experience adjustmentsPaid cash-flow variance: undiscounted; incurred-claim variance: current at end¹Paid cash-flow variance: undiscounted; incurred-claim variance: current at end¹
Future serviceChanges in estimates that adjust CSMLocked-in⁴Current at end
Subsequent onerous losses and reversalsLocked-in for service movements⁵Current at end
New contracts, including initial onerous lossesCurrent at start¹Current at start¹
Past serviceChanges to incurred claimsCurrent at end¹Current at end¹
FinanceInterest accretion / discount unwindFCF: current at start; CSM: locked-inFCF: current at start; no separate CSM accretion
Changes in discount ratesCurrent at start → current at endCurrent at start → current at end⁴
Cash flowsCash received and paidUndiscountedUndiscounted
ClosingClosing balanceFCF: current at end; CSM: locked-inCurrent at end

CSM steps: GMM compared with VFA

StepGMM IFRS 17.44VFA IFRS 17.45
Opening CSMNo difference
New businessNo difference
InterestLocked-in rateNone. Change in the insurer's share of underlying items instead
Changes in estimatesAt locked-in ratesAt current rates, including guarantee costs
CurrencyNo difference
ReleaseCoverage units for insurance coverage and, where applicable, investment-return serviceCoverage units for insurance and investment service

How selected companies disclose it

  • None of the four has a row for interest accretion. The CSM finance effect is in the finance income or expenses row: Zurich BBA USD 162 mn, Swiss Re L&H USD 562 mn, Allianz L&H €653 mn, SCOR L&H €123 mn.
  • Zurich shows GMM and VFA in separate tables. In VFA table 7.8a, the CSM finance row is nil. The changes in estimates (USD 943 mn) contain the financial effect.
  • Allianz shows GMM and VFA in one L&H table. Its footnote says that the changes in estimates that adjust the CSM include the investment result of direct participating business (p. 228).
  • Foreign currency is a large CSM movement: Zurich VFA USD 1,117 mn, Allianz L&H €(1,972) mn, SCOR L&H €(295) mn
  • Swiss Re, SCOR (note 14.5) and Allianz (note 6.11) also split the CSM by transition approach in a separate table

Insurance contracts issued, BBA (GMM)

USD millionsPV cash flowsRisk adjustmentCSMTotal
Net insurance contracts, as of January 1, 202516'7071'8067'13825'651
Changes that relate to future services−1'2931761'14021
Changes that relate to current services71−185−1'176−1'290
Changes that relate to past services150−29—121
Changes related to provision of insurance services−1'073−39−35−1'146
Cash in/(out)flows in the period1'916——1'916
Total changes not related to provision of insurance services1'974565172'547
Net insurance contracts, as of December 31, 202519'5251'8247'62028'968

Insurance contracts issued, VFA

Annual Report 2025 | Table 7.8a (p. 326)

USD millionsPV cash flowsRisk adjustmentCSMTotal
Net insurance contracts, as of January 1, 2025127'7297199'762138'210
Changes that relate to future services−1'430251'398−7
Changes that relate to current services−145−61−978−1'184
Changes that relate to past services−27——−27
Changes related to provision of insurance services−1'602−37420−1'218
Cash in/(out)flows in the period−3'464——−3'464
Total changes not related to provision of insurance services22'249911'11723'457
Net insurance contracts, as of December 31, 2025144'91277311'299156'985

Analysis of insurance revenue

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA(not applicable)

What it shows

Under IFRS 17, an insurer doesn’t book the premiums it collects as revenue. It recognises revenue gradually, as it provides cover. The analysis shows where an insurer’s revenue for the year came from.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.106 IFRS 17.B124–B125

  • Expected claims and expenses for the period
  • Release of the risk adjustment
  • Release of the CSM
  • Other amounts, for example premium experience adjustments
  • Recovery of acquisition cash flows
  • PAA: Not required. IFRS 17.106

Analysis of insurance revenue

Line itemParagraph
Amounts relating to changes in the LRC106
Expected incurred claims and other insurance service expensesB124(a)
Change in risk adjustment for risk expiredB124(b)
CSM recognised for the services providedB124(c)
Other amounts, for example experience adjustments for premiumsB124(d)
Recovery of insurance acquisition cash flowsB125
Insurance revenue from contracts measured under the PAAB126
Insurance revenue83 106

How selected companies disclose it

  • Swiss Re has no revenue analysis table. The components are rows in the note 3 roll-forward.
  • Zurich shows the components for BBA and VFA together. PAA revenue is a single line (p. 339).
  • Allianz and SCOR split the table by segment. Allianz L&H revenue of €24,527 mn includes a CSM release of €5,440 mn and an acquisition cash flow recovery of €3,251 mn (p. 217).

Insurance revenue

USD millions20242025
Change in the liability for remaining coverage10'37910'908
Amortization of CSM2'0192'156
Release of risk adjustment for non-financial risk261273
Release of expected insurance service expenses6'8467'099
Allocation of insurance acquisition cash flows1'1911'305
Premium experience adjustments6072
Other13
Insurance revenue recognized in the period – PAA49'12852'037
Total insurance revenue59'50762'945

New business

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA(not applicable)

What it shows

The new business disclosure shows what the insurer’s new policies for the year are expected to be worth when they’re first written. It reports loss-making policies (onerous) separately, so analysts can see how much new business is profitable and how much unprofitable.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.107–108

  • PV of cash outflows, with acquisition cash flows shown separately
  • PV of cash inflows, risk adjustment and CSM
  • Onerous groups and acquired contracts shown separately
  • Separate tables for contracts issued and reinsurance contracts held
  • PAA: Not required. IFRS 17.107

Contracts initially recognised

Positive amount Negative amount
Line itemNon-onerousOnerousTotalParagraph
Estimates of the PV of future cash outflows+++107(a)
Insurance acquisition cash flows+++107(a)
Claims and other insurance service expenses payable+++107(a)
Estimates of the PV of future cash inflows−−−107(b)
Risk adjustment+++107(c)
CSM++107(d)
Increase in insurance contract liabilities++107

How selected companies disclose it

  • Zurich, Swiss Re and SCOR split profitable and onerous contracts. Allianz splits issued and acquired contracts. It says that it recognised no material onerous groups (p. 236).
  • Only Swiss Re and SCOR give a table for L&H business only. Zurich shows BBA and VFA together. Allianz shows the Group only.
  • Zurich and Swiss Re (Group table, p. 190) show reinsurance held in the same table as contracts issued

Contracts initially recognised, BBA and VFA

USD millions
Estimates of present value of future cash outflows, excluding insurance acquisition cash flows18'9914042'471
Estimates of insurance acquisition cash flows1'56363—
Estimates of present value of future cash inflows−22'440−463−2'205
Risk adjustment for non-financial risk27312−110
CSM1'613—−158
Losses/(loss recoveries) recognized at initial recognition—16−2

Expected CSM release

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA(not applicable)

What it shows

Under IFRS 17, an insurer’s profit on its policies is held on the balance sheet as the contractual service margin (CSM). It is released gradually as the insurer provides cover. This disclosure asks the insurer to show when it expects to release the remaining CSM, usually in time bands such as within one year, years two to five, and after five years.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.109

  • Amounts in appropriate time bands. IFRS 17 does not set the bands.
  • Separate amounts for insurance contracts issued and reinsurance contracts held
  • PAA: Not required, because the PAA has no CSM. IFRS 17.109

Expected CSM release

Positive amount Negative amount

Illustrative time bands. IFRS 17 does not prescribe them, can vary by insurer.

Line itemIssuedTotal
Up to 1 year+−+
1 to 5 years+−+
5 to 10 years+−+
Over 10 years+−+
Total+−+

How selected companies disclose it

  • The time bands are different. Zurich, Swiss Re and Allianz show each of the first five years. SCOR starts at 1–2 years and has no band for the first year.
  • L&H CSM runs off slowly. SCOR expects €2,412 mn of its €4,407 mn L&H CSM after 11 years. Zurich expects USD 5,997 mn of its USD 11,299 mn VFA CSM after 10 years.
  • Swiss Re gives a column for each segment. Zurich splits BBA, VFA and reinsurance held. Allianz shows the Group only. Its projection does not include VFA unwind, accretion and future new business.

Expected CSM release

USD millionsIssued, BBAIssued, VFA
Less than 1 year834676−211
1 to 2 years618655−211
2 to 3 years543614−199
3 to 4 years488576−189
4 to 5 years442540−181
5 to 10 years1'7092'242−792
Over 10 years2'9865'997−1'904
Total7'62011'299−3'687

Insurance finance result and investment return

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA

What it shows

Insurers hold investments to back their policies. Over time these investments earn a return, while the money owed to policyholders grows to reflect interest and market movements. Under IFRS 17, that growth in the amount owed is called insurance finance income or expenses (IFIE). This disclosure asks the insurer to explain the IFIE and how it relates to the return on its investments. This shows how much of the insurer’s profit comes from investing.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.110

  • Total IFIE, with an explanation
  • The relationship between IFIE and the investment return on assets
  • The method, if IFIE is split between P&L and OCI IFRS 17.118
  • PAA: The finance result comes mainly from discounting the incurred claims. Discounting is optional for claims paid within one year. IFRS 17.59(b)

Investment return and insurance finance result

Line itemParagraph
Investment return110
Interest revenue on financial assetsIFRS 7
Net gains or losses on financial assets at fair valueIFRS 7
Other investment incomeIFRS 7
Insurance finance income or expenses87
Reinsurance finance income or expenses82
Net financial result110

How selected companies disclose it

  • All four show IFIE in the income statement
  • Swiss Re, Allianz and SCOR add a note that links IFIE to the investment income: Swiss Re note 4 (p. 219), Allianz note 6.4 (p. 219), SCOR note 17 (p. 237). Zurich shows the IFIE line by Life segment in table 26.2 (p. 386).
  • Allianz note 6.4 has VFA rows: The change in fair value of underlying items (L&H €(11,227) mn) and the effect of the risk mitigation option (€241 mn)
  • SCOR keeps only the accreted interest in the P&L. The effect of discount rate changes goes to OCI (note 17, p. 237).

Investment return and insurance finance result

USD millionsProfit or lossOCITotal
Total investment return4'5326205'152
Net investment income4'315—4'315
Investment gains/losses217—217
Foreign currency translation—5555
Net unrealised investment gains/losses on fixed income securities—513513
Net unrealised investment gains/losses on equity investments—4343
Share of other comprehensive income of equity-method investments—99
Total insurance finance result−2'502−212−2'714

Underlying items of VFA contracts

Applies to

GMM(not applicable)VFAPAA(not applicable)

What it shows

Some policies, such as unit-linked contracts, pay policyholders a share of the return on a specific pool of assets. These assets are called the underlying items. Insurers account for these contracts under the variable fee approach (VFA). This disclosure asks the insurer to describe the assets and report their fair value.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.111–113

  • Composition and fair value of the underlying items. IFRS 17.111 IFRS 17 does not prescribe the categories, they can vary by insurer.
  • Effect on the CSM if the insurer uses the risk mitigation option IFRS 17.112
  • Details of a change in the basis that splits IFIE between P&L and OCI IFRS 17.113
  • How coverage units weight insurance and investment service IFRS 17.117(c)(v)

Fair value of the underlying items

IFRS 17 does not prescribe the categories, they can vary by insurer.

Line itemParagraph
Debt securities111
Equity securities111
Investment funds111
Real estate111
Mortgages and loans111
Cash and other items111
Fair value of the underlying items111

How selected companies disclose it

  • Zurich table 7.9 has eight asset categories. Unit-linked investments are USD 96,974 mn of USD 157,812 mn.
  • Allianz note 6.13 shows L&H underlying items of €539,215 mn, measured on a single entity view
  • Zurich uses the risk mitigation option in limited circumstances (p. 291). Allianz shows its effect, €241 mn, in note 6.4 (p. 219).

Fair value of underlying items, participating contracts

USD millions20242025
Cash and cash equivalents−1'239−1'627
Equity securities−3'815−4'921
Debt securities−38'031−40'262
Mortgage loans−2'886−3'036
Other investments−2'234−2'135
Unit-linked investments−82'831−96'974
Real estate−6'603−7'104
Other assets and liabilities−1'736−1'753
Total−139'374−157'812

Significant judgements, risk adjustment and yield curves

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA

What it shows

Insurers value their policies using estimates of future claims, policyholder behaviour and interest rates. This disclosure asks the insurer to explain the methods and assumptions behind these estimates, and any changes during the year. This shows how cautious the insurer’s assumptions are.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.117–120

  • Methods, inputs and changes to them, including coverage units
  • The confidence level of the risk adjustment IFRS 17.119
  • The yield curves used for discounting IFRS 17.120
  • PAA: Which eligibility test the insurer meets, whether it discounts and how it recognises acquisition cash flows. IFRS 17.97

Key concepts

Risk adjustment method
The risk adjustment is the compensation the insurer requires for bearing non-financial risk. IFRS 17.37 IFRS 17 does not prescribe a method. Most insurers use a cost of capital method or a confidence level (Value at Risk) method.
Confidence level
The insurer must disclose the confidence level that the risk adjustment corresponds to, even when it uses a different method. IFRS 17.119 A higher level gives a larger risk adjustment and a smaller CSM at inception.
Discount rates
Discount rates must reflect the characteristics of the cash flows. IFRS 17.36 The bottom-up approach starts from risk-free rates and adds an illiquidity premium. The top-down approach starts from the yield of an asset portfolio and removes credit risk. IFRS 17.B80–B81
Yield curves
The insurer must disclose the yield curves it uses to discount cash flows. IFRS 17.120 Compare curves in the same currency across insurers. Differences at the long end show how far their assumptions diverge for the same market.
Coverage units
The CSM is released in line with coverage units: The quantity of benefits and the expected coverage period. IFRS 17.B119 For VFA contracts the units also reflect investment services. IFRS 17.117(c)(v)

Assumptions by company

ItemZurichSwiss ReAllianzSCOR
Risk adjustment methodConfidence level approach, calibrated to the target SST ratio (p. 293)Cost of capital, factor-based, 7% capital cost rate (p. 168)Cost of capital, 6% (p. 201)Value at Risk from the SCOR internal model (p. 168)
Confidence level90–95% long-duration (mainly life), 74–79% short-duration (p. 293)78%, net of reinsurance, on the ultimate loss distribution. 2024: 79% (p. 219)72%–77% for L/H LRC (p. 201). 65%–70% for P-C LIC (p. 202)77.5%–82.5%, ultimate horizon, net of reinsurance. 2024: 75–80% (p. 168)
Discounting approachBottom-up for most groups. Top-down for some VFA savings (p. 294)Bottom-up from government bond yields, Smith-Wilson extrapolation to an ultimate forward rate (pp. 167, 220)Bottom-up from swap or government curves, adjusted for illiquidity (p. 200)Bottom-up from OIS risk-free rates, Nelson-Siegel extrapolation (p. 167)
Illiquidity premiumYes, where applicable (p. 294)None added (p. 167)Yes, from reference portfolios. Size not disclosed (p. 200)Yes. Three buckets: 100%, 50% or no premium (p. 167)
Currencies shown in the yield curve tableUSD, CHF, EUR, GBP, liquid and more illiquid curves (p. 283)AUD, CAD, CNY, EUR, GBP, JPY, USD, 1 to 50 years (p. 220)EUR, USD, by contract group (p. 200)USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, CNY, for three liquidity buckets (p. 168)
Coverage unit basisSum assured or annuity in force. Adds assets under management for participating and savings (p. 290)L&H: Volume-based, for example sum assured or recurring benefit (p. 168)Sum at risk for insurance, account value for investment, weighted if both (p. 201)L&H: End-of-period amount assured. P&C: Earned premium patterns (p. 169)

How selected companies disclose it

  • All four describe the methods in the accounting policies: Zurich note 3, Swiss Re note 1, Allianz note 2, SCOR note 1.2. Swiss Re also gives the confidence level and the yield curves in note 4.
  • Swiss Re (7%) and Allianz (6%) use a cost of capital method. Zurich uses a confidence level approach. SCOR uses Value at Risk.
  • Each states the confidence level on a different basis: Zurich by contract duration, Swiss Re net of reinsurance, Allianz for L&H LRC, SCOR on an ultimate time horizon
  • Swiss Re adds no illiquidity premium. The other three do. Zurich and SCOR publish a separate curve for illiquid business.

Methods and assumptions

Annual Report 2025 | Note 3 pp. 290, 293–294; Note 1 p. 283

Risk adjustment method and confidence level

“The Group estimates the risk adjustment using a confidence level approach, taking into account the Group’s internal view of the level of capital required in order to continue operating on a going-concern basis based on the Group’s target Swiss Solvency Test (SST) ratio.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | Note 3 | p. 293
“Separate target confidence levels apply to the distribution of cash flows of long-duration (predominantly life) and short-duration (predominantly non-life) (re-)insurance contracts. The confidence levels fall within the following ranges: 74 – 79 percent for short-duration and 90 – 95 percent for long-duration (re-)insurance contracts.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | Note 3 | p. 293

Discount rate approach

“The Group applies bottom-up discount rates for most groups of insurance contracts issued and reinsurance contracts held. Bottom-up discount rates are constructed using risk-free rates, plus an illiquidity premium, where applicable.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | Note 3 | p. 294
“Top-down discount rates are used for certain groups of insurance contracts (e.g., traditional savings contracts in Switzerland, Germany and Italy measured under VFA), whereby the illiquidity premium is derived from the specific asset portfolios backing such groups of contracts.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | Note 3 | p. 294

Yield curves

One curve is for liquid products and one is for more illiquid products. Zurich shows a 40-year point and no 30-year point. This page does not show 2024.

PercentUSDCHFEURGBP
Liquid products (table 1.2)
1 year3.43%−0.04%2.08%3.54%
5 years3.47%0.32%2.48%3.67%
10 years3.84%0.67%2.86%4.04%
20 years4.28%1.13%3.21%4.54%
40 years4.06%1.58%3.27%4.43%
More illiquid products (table 1.3)
1 year3.81%0.27%2.22%3.78%
5 years3.85%0.63%2.62%3.91%
10 years4.22%0.98%3.00%4.28%
20 years4.66%1.43%3.35%4.78%
40 years4.40%1.79%3.37%4.67%

Coverage units

“The Group has determined the sum assured (or annuity) in force as the main driver of coverage units for insurance contract service for non-participating contracts.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | Note 3 | p. 290
“For these direct participating contracts and other savings contracts, the sum assured in force and assets under management (or equivalent) are included to reflect the weighting for insurance and investment services and the pattern of delivery of those services.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | Note 3 | p. 290

Risk disclosures

Applies to

GMMVFAPAA

What it shows

Insurers are exposed to risks such as people dying sooner or living longer than expected, policyholders cancelling, storms and other large losses, claims costing more than reserved, and falling markets. This disclosure asks the insurer to describe each risk, how it manages it, and how much profit and equity would change if key assumptions moved. This shows where the insurer is most vulnerable.

IFRS requirement IFRS 17.121–132

  • Exposures, concentrations and risk management for each risk type
  • Sensitivities of profit and equity, before and after reinsurance
  • Claims development, which matters most for P&C. Life business is often exempt because claims are settled within one year.
  • Credit risk, and a liquidity maturity analysis for each of the first five years

Key concepts

Sensitivities
Profit or loss and equity are shown under reasonably possible changes in risk variables. IFRS 17.128 A different analysis, such as a solvency measure, is allowed if the insurer manages risk that way. IFRS 17.129 For insurance risk, the effect is shown gross and net of reinsurance. IFRS 17.128(a)(i)
Maturity analysis
Expected cash flows are split by year for the first five years, then shown in total after that. IFRS 17.132(b) Undiscounted net cash flows or present values are both allowed.
Concentrations
The insurer must disclose concentrations of risk and how it determines them, for example by type of insured event, region or currency. IFRS 17.127
Claims development
The insurer must compare actual claims with earlier estimates, for up to ten years. IFRS 17.130 The table shows whether past reserves were enough, which makes it one of the most-read notes for P&C business. It is not required when the amount and timing of claims are usually known within one year, which is often the case for life claims.

Risk disclosures by company

ItemZurichSwiss ReAllianzSCOR
Life insurance risks namedMortality, longevity, morbidity, policyholder behavior, expense, new business (p. 240)Mortality, longevity, morbidity, lapse. Lethal pandemic as a shock event (p. 254)Mortality, disability, morbidity, longevity, lapse, cost, policyholder behaviour (p. 245)Mortality, morbidity, longevity (p. 244). Lapse added in section 3.3.2 (p. 133)
Sensitivity shocks usedSST only: Morbidity and mortality 5%, lapse ±10%, expenses +10%, rates ±50 bps, equity −20%, spreads +100 bps (pp. 242, 336)SST ratio only: 200-year events, rates and spreads ±50bps, equity and real estate ±25% (pp. 257–258)Equity ±30%, rates ±0.5%, spreads +0.5%, L/H lapse +10% (p. 242)L&H mortality +1%, morbidity +2%. Rates ±100 bp, equity ±10% (pp. 245, 141)
Sensitivity shown before and after reinsuranceNo. Net of reinsurance only (p. 335)No. Net only, after mitigation (p. 257)Not disclosed. One set, basis not stated (p. 242)Yes for insurance risks. Market sensitivities not split (p. 245)
Maturity analysis basis (undiscounted or PV)Present value, excluding RA and CSM for BBA and VFA (p. 334)Undiscounted contractual net cash flows (p. 218)Undiscounted remaining contractual net cash flows (pp. 246–247)Undiscounted remaining contractual net cash flows (p. 124)
Claims development scopePAA business only, net of reinsurance, by financial year (p. 318)P&C Re and Corporate Solutions only. L&H Re excluded (p. 221)P&C only (p. 242)P&C (Non-Life) only, underwriting years 2016–2025, gross and net (p. 227)

How selected companies disclose it

  • Only SCOR shows IFRS sensitivities for life risks before and after reinsurance. Allianz shows IFRS sensitivities, but its only life shock is lapse.
  • Zurich and Swiss Re show the effect of life shocks on their Swiss Solvency Test (SST) ratio, not on IFRS profit or equity
  • Swiss Re, Allianz and SCOR give undiscounted maturity analyses. Zurich gives present values.
  • At all four, claims development covers P&C business only. Only Swiss Re explains why: Life claims are usually settled within one year (p. 221).
  • Zurich and SCOR keep part of the risk disclosures outside the notes: Zurich in the audited risk review, SCOR in section 3 of its report

Risk disclosures

Annual Report 2025 | risk review pp. 240–242; Tables 7.4, 7.17–7.22

Sensitivities

The life scenarios come from a bar chart in the risk review (p. 242). The economic sensitivities come from tables 7.20–7.22 (p. 336), Life row only. Zurich gives no IFRS profit or equity sensitivity for life risks. All figures are net of reinsurance (p. 335).

Life scenarios, effect on the SST ratio

Annual Report 2025 | 30 September (p. 242)

Percentage points20242025
5% increase in morbidity rates for protection products−5 pp−4 pp
5% increase in mortality for protection products−2 pp−2 pp
5% improvement in mortality for annuities−2 pp−2 pp
10% decrease in lapse rates−2 pp−1 pp
10% increase in lapse rates−4 pp−4 pp
10% increase in maintenance expenses−6 pp−5 pp
Economic sensitivities, effect on the SST available capital, Life

Annual Report 2025 | 30 September (p. 336)

USD millions20242025
50 bps increase in the interest rate yield curves250−9
50 bps decrease in the interest rate yield curves−356−3
20% decline in stock markets−1'464−1'594
100 bps increase in credit spreads−1'676−1'737

Maturity analysis

The columns are insurance contract liabilities under the PAA, BBA and VFA, and reinsurance contract liabilities under the BBA. The amounts are present values, not undiscounted amounts. BBA and VFA exclude the risk adjustment and the CSM. This page does not show 2024.

USD millionsPAABBAVFAHeld, BBA
< 1 year18'3046'5177'616−42
1 to 2 years9'4908585'896207
2 to 3 years6'5956045'483189
3 to 4 years4'6355245'248170
4 to 5 years3'3245624'576152
> 5 years18'59014'012116'1911'250
Total60'93923'077145'0101'926

Concentrations

“The Group defines concentration risk in the Life business as the risk of increased losses resulting from exposure aggregation.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | risk review | p. 241
“In respect of the Life liability risk profile, on a non-diversified basis, mortality risk accounts for almost half, concentrated predominantly in the EMEA region, morbidity risk accounts for almost two fifths, predominantly from the APAC and EMEA regions, and longevity risk accounts for approximately a seventh, concentrated predominantly in the EMEA region.”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | risk review | p. 241

Claims development

“Table 7.4 summarizes the cumulative paid claims compared with previous estimates of the undiscounted amount of the incurred claims, net of reinsurance. The Group presents the information by financial year, not by accident year (i.e., insurance losses and the development thereof are for all accident years in that financial year).”
Zurich Annual Report 2025 | Table 7.4 | p. 318. The table covers PAA business only

Steering

KPIs: How insurers steer the business

Key performance indicators (KPIs) are the figures management uses to steer the business and to report progress to investors. Each insurer chooses and defines its own KPIs, and publishes them in the management report and investor material. Most are sums or ratios of amounts from the roll-forward tables above.

A KPMG study of 55 insurers' 2025 annual reports looks at four kinds of KPIs. They are new business CSM, combined ratios, operating profit, and value and capital. L&H insurers steer mainly on operating profit and new business CSM. P&C insurers steer on premium growth and the combined ratio.

The cards below show one headline KPI from each block, using Allianz's 2025 figures as an example. The KPI blocks are explained in the sections below.

New business and growth

New business CSM, L&H

€5.4bn

2025, Allianz

Underwriting profitability

Combined ratio, P&C

92.2%

2025, Allianz

Earnings

Operating profit, Group

€17.4bn

2025, Allianz

Value and capital

Core return on equity, Group

18.1%

2025, Allianz

These are insurer-defined management measures, not IFRS 17-defined metrics.
Each insurer decides how to define and calculate these KPIs, so the same name can mean different things at different insurers. Check the definition in each report before comparing figures.

New business and growth

New business value shows the profit an insurer expects from the contracts it sold in the year. In the KPMG study, every insurer in its life and health category reports the new business CSM. Some also report the value of new business (VNB), which also deducts costs not linked to contracts, such as head-office expenses. Dividing VNB by the present value of new business premiums (PVNBP) gives the new business margin.

P&C contracts usually run for one year and are measured under the PAA, which has no CSM. P&C insurers measure growth by premium volume instead. In the KPMG study, 87% of insurers with P&C business report gross written premiums (GWP). Most also show internal growth, which leaves out currency and acquisition effects. Neither is an IFRS 17 figure.

Selected KPIs

New business CSM, L&H

€5.4bn

2025, Allianz

VNB, L&H

€4.8bn

2025, Allianz

PVNBP, L&H

€84.7bn

2025, Allianz

New business margin, L&H

5.7%

2025, Allianz

Total business volume, P&C

€86.7bn

2025, Allianz

Internal growth, P&C

8.2%

2025, Allianz

KPI definitions

= CSM at initial recognition of new business
= Single premiums received + PV(Projected regular premiums)
= PV(Pre-tax future profits) ± Acquisition expense adjustment − Non-attributable expenses − Risk adjustment
= VNB ÷ PVNBP
= Premiums on contracts written in the period, before reinsurance
Internal growth= Growth in reported business volume, adjusted for currency and changes in scope

Underwriting profitability

Underwriting profitability shows whether an insurer earns more from premiums than it pays for claims and costs. P&C insurers measure it with the combined ratio, the claims and expenses as a percentage of insurance revenue. A ratio below 100% means an underwriting profit. In the KPMG study, 84% of insurers with P&C business and all reinsurers report a combined ratio.

IFRS 17 does not define the combined ratio. Most insurers start from insurance service expenses divided by insurance revenue and adjust it. They differ on discounting, reinsurance and which expenses count as directly attributable, so the same ratio is rarely comparable.

L&H insurers have no combined ratio. They judge underwriting by the sources of the insurance service result: CSM release, risk adjustment release, experience variance and onerous losses. See the operating profit by source chart under Earnings below.

Selected KPIs

Combined ratio, P&C

92.2%

2025, Allianz

Loss ratio, P&C

68.3%

2025, Allianz

Expense ratio, P&C

23.9%

2025, Allianz

KPI definitions

Combined ratio= Insurance service expenses ÷ Insurance revenue
Combined ratio= Loss ratio + Expense ratio
Loss ratio= Claims incurred, net of reinsurance ÷ Insurance revenue, net of reinsurance
Expense ratio= Acquisition and administrative expenses ÷ Insurance revenue, net of reinsurance
Run-off ratio= Prior-year claims development ÷ Insurance revenue

Earnings

Earnings shows the profit an insurer makes from running its business in the year. In the KPMG study, 44 of the 55 insurers report an operating profit, including 86% of L&H insurers. There is no standard definition. Most insurers start from IFRS net profit and remove market effects and one-off items, such as restructuring costs. What remains is the result of the business without short-term market swings.

Selected KPIs

Operating profit, Group

€17.4bn

2025, Allianz

Operating profit, L&H

€5.6bn

2025, Allianz

Operating profit, P&C

€9.0bn

2025, Allianz

KPI definitions

Operating profit= IFRS net profit ± Investment variances ± Tax, M&A and restructuring ± Selected IFIE and assumption changes

Example: Operating profit by source

Allianz L&H, fiscal year 2025 (€m)

  • Adds to profit
  • Reduces profit
  • Total

CSM release and risk adjustment release are the expected profit from the in-force book. The other rows show experience, costs and investment. Source: Allianz Annual Report 2025, p. 150.

Value and capital

Value and capital KPIs show locked-in profit, capital strength and returns on that capital. The CSM is the future profit on contracts already written. It is released into income as the insurer provides cover. In the KPMG study, 16 of the 55 insurers add the CSM to equity as a measure of total value.

The solvency ratio compares the capital an insurer holds with the capital its regulator requires. The return on equity (RoE) compares profit with shareholders' equity. In the KPMG study, 53 insurers report a solvency ratio and 48 an RoE, averaging 18.5% in 2025.

Selected KPIs

CSM closing balance

€55.7bn

2025, Allianz

CSM release rate

8.9%

2025, Allianz

Core return on equity, L&H

15.2%

2025, Allianz

Core return on equity, Group

18.1%

2025, Allianz

Solvency II ratio, Group

218%

2025, Allianz

KPI definitions

CSM release rate= CSM release ÷ (Closing CSM + CSM release)
Comprehensive equity= Equity + CSM, net of tax
= Adjusted shareholders’ core net income ÷ Average adjusted shareholders’ equity
Solvency ratio= Eligible own funds ÷ Required capital

Example: Allianz L&H CSM roll-forward

CSM column, Allianz L&H contracts not measured under the PAA, 2025 | Allianz Annual Report 2025, Note 6.6 (p. 228)

EUR millionsAmount
CSM, 1 January 202556'003
Contracts initially recognised5'419
Changes in estimates1'035
CSM recognised for services provided−5'440
Insurance finance income and expenses653
Other movements−1'966
CSM, 31 December 202555'703

The CSM release rate is the share of the CSM recognised as profit in the year. The release is the line for services provided. Adding it back to the closing CSM gives the CSM available before the release.

CSM release rate= CSM release ÷ (Closing CSM + CSM release) = 5'440 ÷ (55'703 + 5'440) = 8.9%

More

FAQ

Balance sheet and reserves

Revenue and premiums

Risk adjustment

CSM and the existing book

Decisions on the existing book

Interest rates

P&C and the PAA

Common mistakes

End of this guide

Adaptive Technologies works on IFRS 17 models, reporting and training for finance and insurance teams.

Return to overview ↑